Online Booking
Best price guarantee

Bern

THE OLD PART OF THE CITY OF BERN IS A UNESCO WORLD HERITAGE SITE

Hardly any other city has preserved its historical traits like Bern, the capital of Switzerland.
The old part of the city of Bern is a UNESCO World Heritage site and has one of the longest weatherproof shopping promenades in Europe with 6 kilometres of arcades, called the Lauben.
The medieval atmosphere of the city is unique with its numerous fountains, sandstone façades, alleys and historic towers. The elevated rose garden over the Bärenpark or the platform of the 101-metre-high cathedral tower
offers the most beautiful view of the old part of town surrounded by the River Aare. The former fortifications and bastions descend steeply to the river. The boutiques, bars and art galleries in the old part town, which are partly in the basement vaults, as well as the small street cafés, attract locals as well as many tourists. Despite its good public transport system, it is best to explore Bern's city centre on foot.
The world's most comprehensive collection of works by the artist Paul Klee can be found in the Paul Klee Centre on the outskirts of the city. The Albert Einstein House bears witness to the physicist's stay in Bern at the beginning of the 20th century, and can be ideally combined with a visit to the Einstein Museum. Bern offers a broad range of exhibitions, from the Historical Museum, the Art Museum, the Swiss Alpine Museum to the Museum of Communication.

 

BERN IS THE SEAT OF GOVERNMENT IN SWITZERLAND

The federal parliament building rises above the city only a few steps away from the main station. Usually, the doors of the parliament building are open to visitors, and whoever is lucky enough may also run across one of the government members in the alleys of the city.
In summer, the Aare invites you to great fun in the sun; very good, proficient swimmers drift in the clean Aare with a view of the nearby parliament building. The botanical garden, the animal park Dählhölzli and the old Matte district are also alongside the river. Bern and the bear, its heraldic animal, are inextricably linked. When visiting the city, you cannot miss out on the Bärenpark, the habitat of a bear family.
In the squares of the city centre, colourful weekly markets offer their goods. Particularly worth seeing is the Zibelemärit, on the fourth Monday of November: in the early morning hours, the traditional folk festival dedicated to the onion fills the city with visitors.

 

BERN IS THE GATE OF THE ALPS AT THE HEART OF SWITZERLAND

The capital can be easily reached by car or by air via Bern-Belp Airport and bus connections to the city centre. Those who prefer travelling by train benefit from a dense railway network, which guarantees direct connections to important European cities. Thanks to its central location, Bern is also an ideal place for overnight stays and trips to the whole of Switzerland. (Text myswitzerland.com)

Inspiration

When the days get a bit shorter again, a visit to the Paul Klee Centre is just as good as an autumn walk on the Gurten or the Bärenpark.

read more
Andreas privat 2017 097

Exhibitions and events in Bern

Hotel Jardin is 5 minutes walking distance from the BEA Bern Expo exhibition grounds.

read more
Expo

Buchen
Bester Preis

Bern

Berner Altstadt ist UNESCO-Welterbe

Kaum eine andere Stadt hat ihre historischen Züge so bewahrt wie Bern, die Hauptstadt der Schweiz.
Die Berner Altstadt ist UNESCO-Welterbe und besitzt mit 6 Kilometern Arkaden, den so genannten Lauben, eine der längsten wettergeschützten Einkaufspromenaden Europas.

Einmalig ist die mittelalterliche Atmosphäre der Stadt mit den zahlreichen Brunnen, Sandsteinfassaden, Gassen und historischen Türmen. Den schönsten Ausblick über die von der Aare umflossene Altstadt
bietet der erhöhte Rosengarten über dem BärenPark oder die Plattform des 101 Meter hohen Münsterturms. Steil fallen die ehemaligen Schanzen und Bastionen zum Fluss hin ab. Die Boutiquen, Bars und Kleinkunstbühnen der Altstadt, teils in den Kellergewölben, sowie die kleinen Strassencafés ziehen Einheimische wie auch viele Touristen an. Trotz seines guten öffentlichen Verkehrssystems erkundet man Berns Innenstadt am besten zu Fuss.
Die weltweit umfassendste Sammlung an Werken des Künstlers Paul Klee findet sich im Zentrum Paul Klee am Stadtrand. Das Albert Einstein Haus zeugt vom Aufenthalt des Physikers Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts in Bern und kann mit einem Besuch im Einstein Museum ideal kombiniert werden. Vom Historischen Museum, über das Kunstmuseum, das Schweizerische Alpine Museum bis hin zum Museum für Kommunikation bietet Bern vielfältige Ausstellungen.

 

Bern ist Regierungssitz der Schweiz 

Nur wenige Schritte vom Hauptbahnhof erhebt sich das Bundeshaus über die Stadt. Meist stehen die Türen des Parlamentsgebäudes Besuchern offen, und wer Glück hat begegnet vielleicht auch einem der Regierungsmitglieder in den Gassen der Stadt.

Im Sommer lädt die Aare zum ultimativen Badespass; sehr gute, geübte Schwimmer lassen sich in der sauberen Aare mit Blick auf das nahe Bundeshaus treiben. Ebenfalls am Flusslauf liegen der Botanische Garten, der Tierpark Dählhölzli und das alte Stadtviertel der Matte. Bern und der Bär, sein Wappentier, sind untrennbar miteinander verbunden. Bei einem Besuch der Stadt darf auf die Besichtigung des BärenParks, dem Lebensraum einer Bärenfamilie, nicht verzichtet werden.

Auf den Plätzen der Innenstadt bieten farbenfrohe Wochenmärkte ihre Waren an. Besonders sehenswert ist der Zibelemärit, jeweils am vierten Montag im November: Bereits in den frühen Morgenstunden füllt das der Zwiebel gewidmete traditionelle Volksfest die Stadt mit Besuchern.

 

Bern ist das Tor zu den Alpen, im Herzen der Schweiz

Die Hauptstadt ist bequem mit dem Auto oder per Flugzeug via Flughafen Bern-Belp und Busverbindungen ins Stadtzentrum erreichbar. Wer die Bahn vorzieht, profitiert von einem dichten Bahnnetz, das Direktverbindungen zu wichtigen europäischen Städten garantiert. Dank der zentralen Lage eignet sich Bern zudem optimal als Übernachtungsort und Ausflüge in die ganze Schweiz.
(Text myswitzerland.com)

Inspiration

Wenn die Tage wieder etwas kürzer werden, bietet sich ein Besuch im Zentrum Paul Klee genau so an, wie ein Herbstspaziergang auf dem Gurten oder zum Bären Park.

Mehr
Winter Bern

Messen und Events in Bern

Das Hotel Jardin befindet sich 5 Minuten zu Fuss von dem BEA Bern Expo Messegelände entfernt.

Mehr
Expo